Giving Life My All

Giving all of myself to everything in my life… God, my family, my health, my mind. This is my story… my ups and downs, struggles and triumphs.

Love Yourself!

on July 4, 2015

Been a while since I last blogged… so here’s one to health and happiness!

I think this is the first time in 4 years and 9 months that I am actually super happy with my body.  At that time, I had just finished up my second month of P90X and was down in Florida celebrating a friend’s wedding.  I felt like I was in amazing shape!  Lean… decently toned… healthy.  I ate well, maintained my 120 lb frame, and had no insecurities wearing a bikini on Miami Beach.  AND… no babies had been pushed out of that body yet.  Oh to be young again….

Florida, Oct. 2010 (Pre-Cayden)

Florida, Oct. 2010 (Pre-Cayden)

Then a month later, I got pregnant.  Let me tell you something…. I have body image issues… as most women do.  But I freely and openly admit it.  Do I like that I have it? No. Does it drive my husband crazy? Yes. Does it keep me striving to stay healthy and lean? Yes.  And is pregnancy and the weight gain needed to grow a tiny human inside me one of the hardest things for me to overcome and accept?  YES.  Don’t get me wrong… I don’t have issues to the point that I need to talk to a doctor… or I starve myself to hit some magical number on my scale (although, I do have a number in my head).  But when I look in the mirror, I don’t see what others see.  All I see are the flaws and areas that could look better.

11 weeks pregnant with Cayden

11 weeks pregnant with Cayden

1 day before Cayden arrived

1 day before Cayden arrived

I have now gone through 2 pregnancies and, wow, does my body look different.  I have 110% earned my battle wounds and tiger stripes from carrying 2 tiny humans in my small frame.  BUT 2 kids plus 4 years 9 months later and I’m officially back to my wedding weight.  Plus, I have way more muscle tone and definition than before.  I have made working out and eating healthy a lifestyle that I plan on continuing well into my senior years.  I told Greg the other night that I am excited to see what I will look like in 40+ years if I continue going to the gym and staying healthy… he told me to slow down and not age us that fast haha.  So that’s what I do… I make a goal… I stick to it… and I don’t stop until I hit it.  My original goal in August of 2014 was to transform my body from 4 months postpartum to a lean, healthy looking body in 12 months.  Anytime I struggled to get motivated to go to the gym, I remembered that goal…. 12 months… 3-4 times a week… 1-2 hours per day… cardio + weights.  For the past 7 months, I have also added in a fun workout one night a week called REFIT(R)… which I am now a Certified Instructor for.  More on REFIT(R) at another time and that awesome journey.

Not going to lie…. I’m finally loving my body… battle wounds and all.  I may not look amazing to others… but I feel amazing inside and out.  And now that I’ve started down this path, I don’t think I can stop.

IMG_1886

IMG_1889

Your body is a temple… treat it as one… love yourself… all your curves… all of your imperfections… and strive to be the best you can (if that’s what makes you happy).

Feel free to comment and/or ask me about my workout regimen!  I would love to help motivate you find a healthier version of yourself!

Thank you Lord for this body you have given me.  Thank you for the ability to move, to exercise, to be healthy, to dance, to sing, to run, to love myself.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

