Giving Life My All

Giving all of myself to everything in my life… God, my family, my health, my mind. This is my story… my ups and downs, struggles and triumphs.

Anyone interested in an update?

on April 17, 2017

So it’s been a little while since I’ve written an update on things… and it’s been a little overdue.  This post is basically a strictly informal one… no fun pictures or anything to go along with it.

I’m guessing that if you’re here reading this, then you are wondering how my health is.  Well.. the cancer has spread but, thankfully, it has not jumped into major organs other than my lungs.  Several weeks ago, we had a whole round of images taken trying to pinpoint where exactly this sucker is attacking me.  It all started with swelling of my left knee.  I was convinced that I had fluid buildup above and around my knee.  Eventually, I couldn’t walk due to the pain.  We had an ultrasound done the same day we thought we were going in to drain my knee… but the doctor who was going to do the procedure had some not-so-great news that put a damper on that plan.  There was no fluid.  There were lesions… AKA cancer.  Cancer in my knee.  So random.  From my kidney to my knee.  But that’s the easy part.  I can handle cancer in the muscle on a non-vital body part.  What I wasn’t expecting… or what’s a bit harder of a pill to swallow is finding out from my PET Scan and CT Scans that I have cancer growing on my spine… specifically the T9 vertebrae.  This vertebrae is actually fractured due to the cancer which explains the pain I had been feeling right in the middle of my back for the past several weeks.  Again, I’m thankful the cancer has not hit the actual spinal cord/nerves… it’s just sitting on top of and in between the bones.  If it hits the spinal cord, I’ll start having numbness in my lower limbs.  We are all praying that this never happens.  My doctors didn’t waste time getting me set up for more radiation once this mass was discovered.  That was almost 3 weeks ago… and if you’re counting, that was round 3 of radiation.  I’m almost 2 weeks out of the last session and I have no idea if it worked on my spine.  I do know that it definitely helped my knee… so that’s a positive.

This week I’ll have a follow-up MRI on my spine to see if the radiation worked… and my right ankle that is swollen and hurts to walk on.  I’m still having pain on the T9 vertebrae which is not very encouraging but I’m hopeful that we at least stopped the growth where it is and can now allow my Immunotherapy drug to do its magic.  So overall… I’m feeling pretty good.  I’m living life day by day… taking the news as it comes.  My doctors are on the same page… day by day… new tumor by new tumor… my case seems to be unique to them.  The cancer has been unpredictable in where it will show up next so we are on a wait and see plan.  I’ll have chest, abdomen and pelvic CT Scans in a couple of weeks to check on all of my organs.  Until then… the MRI of my spine is up next.

4 responses to “Anyone interested in an update?

  1. Debbi says:

    Continuing in prayer for you. Thank you for this update – I almost asked recently, but decided not to. You look amazing in all of the photos I’ve seen of you. I’m still claiming healing for your body in Jesus’ name! Love you girl.

    Like

  2. Chrissy Ciaramella Korcak says:

    Praying for you Cheryl! Sending so much love and positivity your way. You are one strong, brave, inspiration. Keep your head up there’s tons of us out here cheering you on.

    Like

  3. Maureen Senzamici says:

    Cheryl, you are a great inspiration, and you are in our thoughts and prayers.

    Like

  4. Thank you for the update. Was so happy to see pictures of you having some family fun! Your attitude is an inspiration. Will continue to pray for you and your family. Lots of love to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

